What a starting list in Round 5!

Last Updated on 28 July 2021 @ 22:51:14

More than sixty drivers and eight nations represented on 1 August at Castelletto Circuit

It promises to be a really exciting show at Round 5 scheduled for next weekend at the Castelletto Circuit in Castelletto di Branduzzo (PV). Compared to Round 2, the track has been slightly modified and is now 1,280 m long (1,310 m on lap 1), divided into 70% asphalt and 30% gravel, with a rather short Joker Lap: 70 metres.

We would like to remind you that the Lombardy event, with a points coefficient of 1.5, is also valid for the Austrian Championship and the FIA CEZ (Central European Zone) Championship. This fact has led to the presence of many drivers from beyond the Alps: eight nations are represented: Italy, Austria, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Slovakia and Belgium.


Rosario Corallo (Subaru Impreza) and Davide Volterra (VW Scirocco), together with debutant Riccardo Errani (Ford Mustang), will have the difficult task of defending the Italian colours against rivals of the calibre of Austrian Alois Holler (Ford Fiesta), the tough Pole Zbigniew Staniszewski (Ford Fiesta RX), reigning FIA CEZ champion, and the Hungarian "Luigi" (Peugeot 208 RX), leader of both the FIA CEZ and the Austrian Championship. As for the RX5, at the start the leader Davide Riccio (Hyundai i20) and two debutants, both at the wheel of a Peugeot 208 T16 R5: Lucamaria Rizzello and Gian Maria Gabbiani. The latter in particular, son of Beppe, Formula 1 driver between the 70s and 80s, is a luxury rookie, after a long career, with top-level results both in Europe and in the USA and, since 2010, with frequent forays into motorboating: the two Poweboat Endurance Gr. B titles and the victory, in 2015, of the Venice-Montecarlo stand out. Gabbiani is also a well-known TV face, with appearances on RAI channels, La 7, MTV Italia, Deejay TV and several single-issue channels (Nuvolari TV, Automoto TV and Dinamica Channel).

Super 1600

Current leaders Silvano Ruga (Renault Clio) and Paolo Barbieri (Citroen C2) will have to defend themselves against some very tough opponents, such as the leader of the FIA CEZ Championships and Austrian Dominik Senegacnik (AUT - VW Polo) and his two closest pursuers in the FIA CEZ, the Hungarians Balázs Körmöczi (Suzuki Swift), and Libør Teješ (Audi A1, Under 18).


It will be, with all its subcategories, the largest class present at the Castelletto Circuit!

In the STC - 2000 the Italian, Austrian and FIA CEZ leader, Czech Roman Castoral (Opel Astra OPC), could not miss out. The young - Under 18 - Jean Claude Vallino (Opel Astra) will also be back, and of course Matteo Valazza (Citroen Saxo), Castoral's first Italian pursuer, will also be competing. Among others, Ettore Barberis (Honda Civic), rookie Ester Pericotti (Renault Clio), Swiss autocross expert Carlo Suter (Peugeot 206), Polish driver Robert Dabrowski, currently second in the FIA CEZ and third in the Austrian with his Clio Maxi, Hungary's Zoltán Held (Peugeot 208 (RC), currently third in the FIA CEZ, Slovakia's Vladimír Marko (VW Polo), and Austrians Kejio "Keke" Platzer and Josef Strebinger on Suzuki Civic Type R.

The starting list of the STC - 1600 is all Austrian, with two women, the Austrians Nadine Kellner (Peugeot 106) and Selina Schadenhofer (Peugeot 106), the reigning FIA CEZ champion and currently second in the standings, Richard Forster (VW Polo), Gunter Chmela (Renault Clio) and Georg Gundacker (Peugeot 106).

In the STC 2000+ finally our Alberto Palestrini and his Renault Super 5 will find worthy opponents: for example Selina's father, the strong Karl Schadenhofer, at the moment third in the Austrian Championship with his Volkswagen Golf 4, will be at the start. And also the Austrians Stefan Kellner (Renault Megane Mk3), Thomas Handlos (Honda Civic) and Hans Eigenbauer (Skoda Fabia Mk1), the Hungarians Attila Beke (BMW E87), Laszlo Vamosi (BMW E36 M3) and Zion Gabay (BMW E36) and our Arianna "Ari" Corallo (BMW E36 M3).


All the main protagonists of the championship were present: the leader Marcello Gallo (Lifelive TN5), his main opponent Marco Berniga (Planet Kart Cross K3), the defending champion Simone Firenze (Semog Bravo Sport), the Grieco brothers , Matteo and Nicolò (GMN Kart Cross), Maicol Giacomotti (Planet Kart Cross K3), Under 18s Kobe Pauwels (Lifelive TN5), Victor Vranckx (Planet Kart Cross K3) and Marcus Antonio Martinelli (GMN Kart Cross), Mauro Vicario (Speedcar Xtreme), home driver Riccardo Canzian (Speedcar Xtreme) and Nicola Landrini (Planet Kart Cross K3).

Filippo Bossetti (GMN Kart Cross) will make a welcome return.

The programme

On Saturday 31 July free practice is scheduled: on Sunday 1 August from 8.30 am the 3Qs will start. From 4 pm Semifinals and Finals.

The public will be able to enjoy this great show live: tickets are already available online.

Further information, including how to access the facility, on the Championship website.